Call for help from the power grid

In a power grid, exactly the same amount of electricity must be drawn or consumed (load) at any given time as is fed into or generated.

Date:

02.09.2019

Reading time:

2 min

Text:

Moritz Fehlow, Energy industry and charging infrastructure eeMobility

Photo:

Cassie Boca on Unsplash.com
  • Why electricity prices rise or fall
  • What is bidirectional loading

As in "Electromobility: How do you charge intelligently?", we are now developing in the direction of a "generation-oriented" electricity landscape. If wind and sun produce a lot of electricity, a lot of electricity must inevitably be consumed. If too little electricity is consumed, electricity prices on the stock exchange can drop dramatically, similar to the one in Frankfurt. Since the electricity must be purchased, this incentive can even lead to positive prices - a cry for help from the power grid.

This price effect also exists the other way round. This means that in times of high demand and low generation, electricity prices rise considerably. Acutely in such situations, one can regulate the load or the generation as well as take electricity from or transport it to the affected grid area.

 

Mutual relationship between wind energy and electricity prices (Source: eeMobility)

 

Electric mobility at the right time

Thanks to eeMobility, electromobility is becoming a flexible load - distributed throughout Germany. The future also holds the bidirectional loading ready: At the so-called Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G), power can be taken from the vehicle battery and fed back into the mains supply*. If wind turbines or PV systems do not have to be switched off or at least down-regulated, but instead have a flexible consumer, the share of renewable energies in electricity consumption increases.

Sensibly draw and provide power

This also means that these electricity volumes do not have to be available at a later date with potentially less RES** production. This is because the electricity may then come back from coal, gas or nuclear power - and the energy turnaround is not helped at all. Another advantage is the regional distribution of the many individual electric cars. Where a lot of electricity is consumed locally or can be compensated by V2G, there is no need to transport electricity from higher-level networks (medium and high-voltage networks) to or from the region. 

Flexible power consumption and spontaneous supply are valuable features that will be increasingly in demand in the future. They promote the integration of renewable energies and can reduce the need for supra-regional grid expansion - from which not only the environment but also society benefits!

* This technology already exists but is not yet widely used and therefore not yet an option for widespread application. There are few compatible vehicles and the supply of charging infrastructure is also very limited. The system is only commercially available for the Chademo connector type.

** reusable energies

en_USEN

In our monthly newsletter we inform you about the current possibilities of electric mobility, technical background and special offers from eeMobility.

Receive our newsletters

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

We offer charging solutions such as Charge and energy management, Billing Service & Monitoring.

eeFlat: for the company car driver who requires
a complete solution including charging at home.

CHARGING SOLUTIONS FOR

Hilferuf aus dem Stromnetz

In einem Stromnetz muss zu jedem Zeitpunkt genau so viel Strom entnommen bzw. verbraucht (Last) werden, wie eingespeist bzw. erzeugt wird.

Datum:

02.09.2019

Lesezeit:

2 min

Text:

Moritz Fehlow, Energiewirtschaft und Ladeinfrastruktur eeMobility

Foto:

Cassie Boca on Unsplash.com
  • Warum Strompreise steigen oder sinken
  • Was ist bidirektionales Laden

Wie in „Elektromobilität: Wie lädt man intelligent?“ beschrieben, entwickeln wir uns jetzt in Richtung einer „erzeugungsorientierten“ Stromlandschaft. Wenn Wind und Sonne viel Strom produzieren, muss zwangsläufig auch viel Strom verbraucht werden. Wird zu wenig Strom verbraucht, können die Strompreise an der Börse, ähnlich der in Frankfurt, extrem sinken. Da der Strom unbedingt abgenommen werden muss, kann dieser Anreiz sogar zu positiven Preisen führen – ein Hilferuf aus dem Stromnetz.

Auch anders herum existiert dieser Preiseffekt. Das heißt, in Zeiten hoher Nachfrage und geringer Erzeugung steigen die Strompreise erheblich an. Akut kann man in solchen Situationen die Last oder die Erzeugung regulieren sowie Strom aus dem betroffenen Netzgebiet ab- oder ihn dorthin transportieren.

 

Wechselseitige Beziehung von Windenergie und Strompreis (Quelle: eeMobility)

 

Elektromobilität zur richtigen Zeit

Elektromobilität wird dank eeMobility zur flexiblen Last – über ganz Deutschland verteilt. Die Zukunft hält dazu noch das bidirektionale Laden bereit: Beim sogenannten Vehicle-to-Grid (V2G) kann Strom aus der Fahrzeugbatterie entnommen und ins Stromnetz rückgespeist werden*. Wenn nun Windkraftanlagen oder PV-Anlagen nicht abgeschaltet oder zumindest runtergeregelt werden müssen, sondern deren Strom einen flexiblen Abnehmer findet, erhöht das den Anteil der erneuerbaren Energien im Stromverbrauch.

Strom sinnvoll abnehmen und bereitstellen

Das bedeutet gleichzeitig, dass diese Strommengen nicht zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt mit potenziell weniger EE**-Produktion bereitstehen müssen. Denn dann kommt der Strom möglicherweise wieder aus Kohle, Gas oder Atomkraft – und der Energiewende ist kein Stück geholfen. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die regionale Verteilung der vielen einzelnen Elektroautos. Wo viel Strom lokal verbraucht oder durch V2G kompensiert werden kann, da muss auch kein Strom aus übergeordneten Netzen (Mittel- und Hochspannungsnetz) hin- oder wegtransportiert werden. 

Strom sinnvoll flexibel abzunehmen bzw. spontan bereitzustellen sind also wertvolle Eigenschaften, die in Zukunft immer gefragter sein werden. Sie fördern die Integration erneuerbarer Energien und können die Notwendigkeit des überregionalen Netzausbaus reduzieren – wovon nicht nur die Umwelt, sondern auch die Gesellschaft profitiert!

* Diese Technologie existiert bereits, ist jedoch noch nicht weit verbreitet und demnach noch keine Option für eine breite Anwendung. Es existieren nur wenig kompatible Fahrzeuge und auch das Angebot an Ladeinfrastruktur ist sehr begrenzt. Kommerziell verfügbar ist das System nur für den Steckertyp Chademo.

** erneuerbare Energien