An invitation: Between the forest and the future

Can and must we rethink our world and our way of doing business? And how can we succeed in doing so? In her current book, social scientist and transformation researcher Maja Göpel debates precisely these questions and outlines possible solutions.

Date:

11.02.2021

Reading time:

2 min

Text:

eeMobility GmbH

Photo:

eeMobility GmbH

What distinguishes natural systems from systems created by humans? In her book "Rethinking our world - an invitation", social scientist Maja Göpel asks and answers this question right at the beginning. Natural systems are designed for the long term, artificial systems for the moment. Natural systems are based on diversity. The waste of one is the food of the other. In this way, nothing disappears. Natural systems know no waste. Human systems, on the other hand, must be imagined like a conveyor belt. At the front, resources are extracted, then they are processed and consumed, and at the back of the conveyor belt, the waste of the process falls down. However, this man-made waste cannot usually be recycled any further. The cheapest way to get rid of it is, of course, often burning it. 

For Göpel, this is why the global environmental and social crises we are experiencing are no coincidence. They reveal how we treat ourselves and the planet. In order to master these crises, which in Göpel's eyes also include the Corona pandemic, we would have to become aware of the rules according to which we have built up our economic system and question them. 

Let's take the resource forest, for example. In the conveyor belt thinking that is still common at present, the forest is first and foremost a supplier of wood. It has therefore only taken a few decades for the timber industry to make the forest ecosystem, which has been resilient for millions of years, deeply vulnerable. Monocultures and plantation management make the forest less resistant to climate change and increase the risk of forest fires. In many places, excessive logging is destroying the forest's internal climate, further diminishing its self-healing capacity. Machinery weighing tons for logging and transport compacts the soil, which in turn causes plants and trees to grow more poorly. Sooner or later the forest will be destroyed. Our conveyor belt thinking damages its ecosystem.

Is there a solution to this dilemma? At this point, technological progress is often cited as the solution to all problems in the future. The retailer Walmart, for example, filed a patent for a robotic bee two years ago. The drone is supposed to be able to artificially pollinate plants in the future. Is such a robotic bee the right answer to the bee die-off we are currently witnessing worldwide? Or wouldn't it make more sense to preserve the natural system so that bees can live in it? Perhaps it would also be an approach to start to remunerate the services of nature, which we currently still use for free, and to consider them as an actual value. The economic benefit of bees, for example, is estimated at 150 billion euros a year. Or we start to move away from our conveyor belt thinking and rethink our world. Maja Göpel has also outlined the premises for this new thinking in her book: 

From product to process.

From the conveyor belt to the circuit.

From the individual part to the system.

From extraction to regeneration.

From competition to collaboration.

From unbalance to balance.

From money to value.

Maja Göpel is a social scientist, expert on sustainability policy and Secretary General of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU). Her book "Unsere Welt neu denken - Eine Einladung" was published by Ullstein Verlag.

en_USEN

In our monthly newsletter we inform you about the current possibilities of electric mobility, technical background and special offers from eeMobility.

Please enable the javascript to submit this form

We offer charging solutions such as Charge and energy management, Billing Service & Monitoring.

eeFlat: for the company car driver who requires
a complete solution including charging at home.

CHARGING SOLUTIONS FOR

Eine Einladung: Zwischen Wald und Zukunft

Können und müssen wir unsere Welt und unsere Art zu wirtschaften neu denken? Und wie kann uns das gelingen? In ihrem aktuellen Buch debattiert die Gesellschaftswissenschaftlerin und Transformationsforscherin Maja Göpel genau diese Fragen und skizziert Lösungsansätze.

Datum:

11.02.2021

Lesezeit:

2 min

Text:

eeMobility GmbH

Foto:

eeMobility GmbH

Was unterscheidet natürliche Systeme von Systemen, die von Menschenhand geschaffen wurden? In Ihrem Buch „Unsere Welt neu denken – eine Einladung“ stellt und beantwortet die Gesellschaftswissenschaftlerin Maja Göpel diese Frage gleich zu Beginn. Natürliche Systeme seien auf Dauer angelegt, künstliche auf den Moment. Natürliche Systeme basieren auf Diversität. Der Abfall des einen ist die Nahrung des anderen. Auf diese Weise verschwindet nichts. Natürliche Systeme kennen keine Verschwendung. Menschliche Systeme dagegen müsse man sich wie ein Förderband vorstellen. Vorne werden Ressourcen extrahiert, anschließend werden diese verarbeitet und verbraucht und hinten am Fließband fällt der Müll des Prozesses herunter. Allerdings ist dieser menschengemachte Müll meist nicht weiter zu verwerten. Die billigste Methode ihn loszuwerden ist, klar, häufig das Verbrennen. 

Für Göpel sind aus diesem Grund die weltweiten Umwelt- und Gesellschaftskrisen, die wir durchleben, kein Zufall. Sie offenbaren, wie wir mit uns und dem Planeten umgehen. Um diese Krisen, zu denen in Göpels Augen auch die Corona-Pandemie gehört, zu meistern, müssten wir uns die Regeln bewusst machen, nach denen wir unser Wirtschaftssystem aufgebaut haben und hinterfragen. 

Nehmen wir zum Beispiel die Ressource Wald. Im derzeit noch immer üblichen Förderband-Denken ist der Wald in erster Linie ein Holzlieferant. Es hat daher nur einige Jahrzehnte gedauert, bis die Holzindustrie das über Millionen Jahre resiliente Ökosystem Wald zutiefst verwundbar gemacht hat. Monokulturen und die Plantagenwirtschaft machen den Wald weniger widerstandsfähig gegen den Klimawandel und erhöhen die Waldbrandgefahr. Vielerorts zerstört die zu hohe Holzentnahme das Binnenklima des Waldes, dessen Selbstheilungskräfte dadurch weiter schwinden. Tonnenschwere Maschinen zum Holzabbau und Transport verdichten die Böden, was wiederum dazu führt, dass Pflanzen und Bäume schlechter wachsen. Über kurz oder lang geht der Wald dadurch kaputt. Unser Förderband-Denken beschädigt sein Ökosystem.

Gibt es eine Lösung für dieses Dilemma? An dieser Stelle wird gern der technologische Fortschritt ins Feld geführt, der in Zukunft alle Probleme lösen soll. Der Einzelhändler Walmart zum Beispiel hat vor zwei Jahren das Patent für eine Roboterbiene angemeldet. Die Drohne soll in der Lage sein, Pflanzen in Zukunft künstlich zu bestäuben. Ist eine solche Roboterbiene die richtige Antwort auf das Bienensterben, das wir derzeit weltweit beobachten? Oder wäre es nicht sinnvoller, das natürliche System so zu erhalten, dass Bienen in ihm leben können? Vielleicht wäre es auch ein Ansatz, damit anzufangen, die Dienstleistungen der Natur, die wir derzeit noch kostenlos nutzen, zu vergüten und als tatsächlichen Wert zu betrachten. Der wirtschaftliche Nutzen der Bienen wird zum Beispiel auf 150 Milliarden Euro jährlich geschätzt. Oder wir fangen an, uns von unserem Förderband-Denken zu verabschieden und unsere Welt neu zu denken. Die Prämissen für dieses neue Denken hat Maja Göpel in ihrem Buch ebenfalls skizziert: 

Vom Produkt zum Prozess.

Vom Förderband zum Kreislauf.

Vom Einzelteil zum System.

Vom Extrahieren zum Regenerieren.

Vom Wettkampf zur Zusammenarbeit.

Von der Unwucht zur Balance.

Vom Geld zum Wert.

Maja Göpel ist Gesellschaftswissenschaftlerin, Expertin für Nachhaltigkeitspolitik und Generalsekretärin des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen (WBGU). Ihr Buch „Unsere Welt neu denken – Eine Einladung“ erschien im Ullstein Verlag.

de_DEDE

In unserem monatlichen Newsletter informieren wir Sie über die aktuellen Möglichkeiten der Elektromobilität, technische Hintergründe und besondere Angebote von eeMobility.

Bitte aktivieren Sie das Javascript, um dieses Formular abzuschicken

Wir bieten Ladelösungen wie Lade- und Energiemanagement, Abrechnungsservice & Monitoring an.

eeFlat: für den Dienstwagenfahrer, der die
Komplettlösung inklusive Zuhauseladen benötigt.

LADELÖSUNGEN FÜR